Inkling Anime Review: The Filthy Frank Show

For almost every site dedicated towards creating and sharing various forms of content with others, I sort of get the impression that the people in charge of these establishments usually select the least controversial, and inoffensive users to headline their platform. One prime example in particular is YouTube. While this does kind of come off as a bit safe and barebones when it comes to marketing, I feel like this strategy is effective since the last thing you ever want to do when running a site or business is scare away or potentially offend your audience. But every now and then, an obscure and provocative channel will rise from the underground and capture the minds of individuals through crass and risqué behavior. And probably one of the most popular youtubers’ that fits these criteria is Filthy Frank.

Filthy Frank Cowboy Bebop Anime Opening. Dir. Joji Miller. Perf. Filthy Frank, IDubbbz, MaxMoeFoe. Drygas, 12 Oct. 2016. Web. 13 Oct. 2016.

Filthy Frank’s is a half-Australian, half-Japanese man with a morbid and extremely cynical persona. To a new viewer that might not be acquainted with his channel, he might come off as offensive and morally repugnant. I won’t argue with that opinion since that’s how I initially felt about him when I first stumbled upon his content. The first video I remember watching from him was where he and his friends (who also happen to be prominent YouTube channels), iDubbbz, and MaxMoeFoe, were literally eating cake out of vomit. Despite being immensely grossed out, I decided to check out his entire collection of work instead of basing my opinion of him off of one vignette. Before I even realized it, his videos had me laughing uncontrollably, and it has become something that I habitually look forward too. I have become one with the filth.

e-t-_1

Androxus. Best Quote/Monologue Ever Said. Digital image. ModDB. DBolical Pty Ltd., 2 Feb. 2016. Web. 13 Oct. 2016.

While a good majority of his channel thrives on ludicrous and over the top humor, Filthy Frank does sometimes say something that is insightful or leaves a lot of food for thought. In E.T. 2, one theme that was explored was existentialism. Towards the end of the video, the coke-loving alien said:

“We are born to live. From the moment we are thrown into the universe, we breathe, eat, drink, procreate. It is what we do as living organisms. But why would one procreate, let alone find a reason to stay alive, without something to stay alive for?
We as humans don’t stay alive for the sake of survival, but rather for things that bring purpose; religion, art, music, love. in an endless oblivion of darkness and space, humans are the only species primitive enough to care, you must do what you love.
The best things in life will always end in conflict, that is why we humans are primitive. F*ck this planet. It is a piece of sh*t. Seriously. If I cannot return to space, then I will snort coke until I die.

This part of the video made me have a deeper sense of appreciation for Filthy Frank because I think that this brief snippet really displayed a human element and a pervading sense of poignancy. Prior to this video, I only saw Filthy Frank as a character and not as an actual person, so hearing him say something so insightful was eye-opening for me. These are also thoughts that run through my head every now and then, so it felt comforting to know that I wasn’t alone.

maxresdefault

Miller, Joji. Ravioli Ravioli. Digital image. YouTube. TooDamnFilthy, 4 Oct. 2015. Web. 13 Oct. 2016.

All in all, The Filthy Frank Show is the embodiment of subversive wit and dexterity. It’s abhorrent, derogatory, facetious, but also self-aware and incredibly hilarious. If you haven’t watched this anime yet, I highly recommend it. If their is any anime that you guys would want me to check out, I’m all ears and  I’d love to hear any suggestions. Stay fresh!

Leave a Reply

